Posted by: matt25 | January 25, 2017

Solemn Charge

Today I begin a pilgrimage of sorts with a day filled with preparation followed by an evening of prayerful rest at the Christ The King Seminary in East Aurora.  As I woke I prayed briefly a prayer of thanksgiving and praise to God before picking up my tablet to check the weather and Facebook.  I was quickly drawn down a path to a a profound point.

Solemn Charge is the descriptive phrase at the beginning of 2 Timothy 4:1-5, and I was drawn to that pericope this morning.  I find that encouraging in a profound way on this particular morning, even though I have barely opened my eyes, as I prepare to take my seat tomorrow on one of the four busses leaving from the Diocese of Buffalo for Washington DC.  Hundreds of thousands of others will also be making this pilgrimage to stand up for the human rights of the voiceless least among us, children who are still in the womb.   

Although for many years I have supported the annual March For Life in its efforts to promote legal protection for these innocents, this is the first time I have been able to attend the March with its 2017 theme of “The Power of One”.  I make this pilgrimage because I am only one but my one voice matters.  I make this pilgrimage not just to end abortion but, because I am prolife at every moment of life from conception to natural death.  I make this pilgrimage because one child may be saved who will discover a cure for cancer.  I make this pilgrimage because it is in my heart that I have been given a solemn charge.

“I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who will judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingly power:  proclaim the word; be persistent whether it is convenient or inconvenient; convince, reprimand, encourage through all patience and teaching. For the time will come when people will not tolerate sound doctrine but, following their own desires and insatiable curiosity, will accumulate teachers and will stop listening to the truth and will be diverted to myths.  But you, be self-possessed in all circumstances; put up with hardship; perform the work of an evangelist; fulfill your ministry.” 2 Tim 4:1-5 NABRE 

Leave a Reply

Categories

