Posted by: matt25 | May 30, 2014

What Are You Waiting For?

If you are a normal type of person, there is something inside you. A quiet voice calling you to be better. But, day after day you say hello to that voice and then choose to drown it out with distractions and habits that bring you momentary pleasure, not caring that they erode your future well being.

Don’t wait. Quiet your distractions at least once a day. Make a standing appointment at the same time(s) every day to talk to your still small voice within. Consider creating an electronics free sitting area in your home where you can do this. At first you may find it difficult but it should get easier as it becomes a habit.

For me this time is prayer and that quiet voice is the Holy Spirit. I have found that if I do not set aside time for prayer early in the morning, if I choose distractions instead and put it off until later, my chances of neglecting my discipline of prayer for the day rise exponentially.

What are you waiting for? Establish a discipline that works for you and implement it. Begin listening in your inmost being and allow yourself to grow and evolve into a better version of yourself. Become the person you are meant to be.

Peace

…you should put away the old self of your former way of life, corrupted through deceitful desires, and be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and put on the new self, created in God’s way in righteousness and holiness of truth.

Ephesians 4:22-24 NABRE

Responses

  1. I love this idea and I think it will make your entire life better. More fulfilling.

    • Thanks Kate. Do you find when you write that you are frequenty talking to yourself? I find this is true in my preaching as well as my writing.

      • Yes i do actually. It helps a lot to discuss things with someone. Might as well be me! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

