Posted by: matt25 | May 26, 2014

A Birthday Post For My Bride (Still Learning)

It was midnight and I wanted to post a birthday wish for Mary Jane’s birthday but, i struggled with what I wanted to say. In fact I had to go to bed and wait for morning to find the last line.

Still Learning

Once there was a time when I learned of love

Of its gentle bond Holding me a willing captive

As though with chains of iron

Once there was a time when I learned of love

Of its other name freedom

Calling me to choose and decide

Demanding hard work if I would stay

Once there was a time when I learned of love

Of its richness without bounds

Discovered only by the giving of my life

Revealing new shades with each day’s smile

Once there was a time when I learned of love

Of its secret making

Forged in each act of kindness and sacrifice

Humbly given, humbly received

Once there was a time when I learned of love

Of its life completing unction

Joining what was divided into one

Rippling outward

Helping others to learn of love

loves-ripple-effect-judi-forney

Leave a Reply

Categories

