Posted by: matt25 | August 27, 2013

Remember that Song, I Hear You Knocking?

I remember it pretty well, at least parts of it.  I Hear You Knocking by Dave Edmunds had some lyrics in it that went like this:

You went away and left long time ago.  Now your knocking on my door.  I hear you knocking, but you can’t come in.  I hear you knocking.  Go back where you been. I begged you not to go but you said goodbye.  Now your telling me all your lies.  I hear you knocking, but you can’t come in.  I hear you knocking.  Go back where you been.

This is another one of those cases where a secular song can take a different meaning for me when I listen to it through a scriptural filter.  The scripture I am thinking of is from our readings from this past Sunday.  Specifically the Gospel of Luke centered around 13:24-25

“Strive to enter through the narrow gate,for many, I tell you, will attempt to enter but will not be strong enough. After the master of the house has arisen and locked the door, then will you stand outside knocking and saying, ‘Lord, open the door for us.’ He will say to you in reply, ‘I do not know where you are from.”

In both cases, the person doing the knocking is left out in the cold.  They are not in relationship with the one who hears the knocking.  The message is clear to me.  If we know we are going to knock one day, and we do, then we must act on that knowledge.  The question is, how?

Leave a Reply

Categories

