Posted by: matt25 | July 3, 2013

Twins in Doubt and Faith (Sorta Kinda)

Today is the Feast of St. Thomas who was called the twin and was not present when the other apostles first saw the risen Christ in their midst.  When I hear that he is called the twin I sometimes think of myself as being his twin in a certain sense. After all,  I have never seen the risen Jesus with my own eyes and spent a chunk of my life in unbelief.

Unlike Thomas though I have not been asked to place my finger into the wounds of Christ in order to help me believe,  or have I?  My experience of Christ has come in the form of grieving hearts at funerals,  suffering souls in hospitals,  and broken spirits in prison. Are these not experiences of the wounds of Jesus that have strengthened me for my own trials? 

I find myself called by these experiences to follow Thomas in faith and acknowledge Jesus as the Lord and  become an apostle in our own age.  But how do I do that?

Here is another connection in answer. Thomas asked: Lord, we do not know where you are going; how can we know the way? Jesus replied: I am the way, the truth and the life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

