Posted by: matt25 | June 27, 2013

About That Pesky Truth Thing

It seems to me that throughout all of history humanity has proven that we have a tendency to get it all twisted around and backwards. We think about things, and decide that the truth about them must be whatever we decide it is. We decide this based upon a combination of things that may include emotion, experience, and quite often pressure from others. In other words, truth is subjective.

But, if truth is subjective it has lost the very essence of what truth is. If something is true it does not matter what I think, and how I feel about it does not effect it’s truthfulness in the least. Therefore, I have to make a decision. Do I follow the road less travelled by or do I travel the road of least resistance? Do I seek truth and try to mold my life to it, accepting the consequences that come with it, or do I accept relativism as a false truth to live by because it makes my life easier.

Everyone of us must make a choice. Will we set the trajectory our life will follow or allow the trajectory to be set for us by others. Once we decide, that trajectory informs the thousands of smaller choices that we make daily. My choice is to shape the way I think and live in seeking objective truth. The ultimate truth and reality of our existence and its meaning. I cannot embrace the subjective version of what popular opinion tells me I should believe and shape my life around that. Rather, I must seek to discipline my life to conform to truth’s self revelation that can be discovered and known if it is sought in humility with integrity.

I hope that you will join me in my choice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

