Posted by: matt25 | February 25, 2013

Maybe You Just Weren’t Paying Attention

Yesterday was the Feast of the Transfiguration and it was my honor and privilege to preach at my parish.  I decided to use my cellphone to record my homily at the 8:30 service so that I could let my daughter, who was sick at home, hear it later.   Unfortunately, I have never tried to do this before so the end got cut off.  So she didn’t, and you won’t, have the chance to hear the conclusion but, everything else is here.

I welcome any discussion about the thoughts that it raises in your mind, any sharing of the feelings that may rise in your heart, or any enlightenment through constructive criticisms that may spring  to your lips.

Because in the conclusion which you won’t hear, the quiz that I warned the folks who were there about, was actually a “take home” test.  All they had to do to pass was to recall one “breakthrough” of God’s love for them and share it with someone this week.  In their homes, at work, at school, or even on the internet.  Because the “New Evangelization” and the call of the “Year of Faith” can be as simple as sharing their own story about how God has touched their personal life in some way.

These are the Scripture readings from yesterdays celebration:

Reading 1                    GN 15:5-12, 17-18

Responsorial Psalm     PS 27:1, 7-8, 8-9, 13-14

Reading II                   PHIL 3:17—4:1

Gospel                         LK 9:28B-36

Leave a Reply

Categories

