Posted by: matt25 | February 15, 2013

Come To Table Of Plenty

“Nurture your mind with great thoughts for you will never go any higher than what you think.”
— Benjamin Disraeli

Here I am at the beginning of my Lenten journey. I begin my Lent in the midst of a culture that all too often seems to want to dull my mind, separate me from the principals of my ancestors, and kill my spirit, leaving me an empty shell who can pay taxes. The pursuit of self indulgent practices is supported by the omnipresent flood of overly sexualized, violent and shallow swirl of entertainment that spreads out before me like a great banquet of food that titillates my taste buds but still leaves me starving. Enough! I want real food that fills my soul and satisfies my deepest longings for joy.

I deserve better. We all deserve better. God created us to have better.

That is what Lent is about. I need to pray for God to help me see with new eyes to clearly determine what habits I have that separate me from my true nature. For I am a beloved child of God. If you are in agreement, please pray with me.

Lord, I am sorry for not being a better child for you. I know I can’t change without your help, so I humbly come before you to ask the grace of your favor. Show me one thing in my life that you want me to turn to a new direction this Lent. Grant me the grace to understand how to fast, pray and love in order to take this new direction you call me to. Help me also to support others who also want to follow your call wherever it leads us. I ask these things in the name of the way, the truth, and the life, Jesus your Son, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God forever.
Amen

Come To the Feast!

Leave a Reply

Categories

