Posted by: matt25 | February 4, 2013

Is It Just Me or Is This A Frightening Concept

I am suddenly reminded of so many futuristic movies that I have seen when I read this article on the possibility of controlling the entire population through the use of chemicals to manipulate morality.

http://www.bioedge.org/index.php/bioethics/bioethics_article/10378#comments

This discussion on “moral bioenhancement” says in part:

“This is chemical, genetic or neurological intervention to promote morally admirable qualities. Some potentially effective techniques include drugs to induce cooperation, selecting embryos which have genes for cooperation rather than for discord, or “an artificial chromosome that includes multiple genes coding for stronger predispositions to a variety of moral virtues”.

It seems to me that we would become less than human if we were to sacrifice our free will in order to accept whatever promises we’re offered by the power structure in place that would attempt to implement these controls.

I strongly feel I would rather take my chances in a messy world where people are able to choose a different moral code than the one I hold dear. Now if you’ll excuse me, I am going to exercise my free will and go watch Braveheart again. FREEDOM!

20130204-103638.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

