Posted by: matt25 | June 9, 2009

About That Open Letter to Obama On the Web

People of goodwill often disagree about what course of action makes more sense. Building consensus is difficult at best but it begins by listening openly to the concerns of stakeholders. Lou Pritchett is one such stakeholder and he voices the concerns of many who have a conservative political bent in this open letter.

If you are thrilled with the job the president is doing, then read this to understand not “the other side” but a fellow stakeholder in our nation’s future.   If you are not happy with the direction the administration is steering us, then see if his concerns are also yours.   Then all of us over coffee, in our homes, at work, or with our friends need to think and talk about the issues and seek some common ground to move forward.  We either respectfully engage in dialog or demonize and belittle those we disagree with.    Oh there is also a third option, bury our head in the sand and accept whatever comes without our input. Your choice.

http://www.snopes.com/politics/soapbox/youscareme.asp

AN OPEN LETTER TO PRESIDENT OBAMA

By Lou Pritchett

Dear President Obama:

You are the thirteenth President under whom I have lived and unlike any of the others, you truly scare me.

You scare me because after months of exposure, I know nothing about you.

You scare me because I do not know how you paid for your expensive Ivy League education and your upscale lifestyle and housing with no visible signs of support.

You scare me because you did not spend the formative years of youth growing up in America and culturally you are not an American.

You scare me because you have never run a company or met a payroll.

You scare me because you have never had military experience, thus don’t understand it at its core.

You scare me because you lack humility and ‘class’, always blaming others.

You scare me because for over half your life you have aligned yourself with radical extremists who hate America and you refuse to publicly denounce these radicals who wish to see America fail.

You scare me because you are a cheerleader for the ‘blame America’ crowd and deliver this message abroad.

You scare me because you want to change America to a European style country where the government sector dominates instead of the private sector.

You scare me because you want to replace our health care system with a government controlled one.

You scare me because you prefer ‘wind mills’ to responsibly capitalizing on our own vast oil, coal and shale reserves.

You scare me because you want to kill the American capitalist goose that lays the golden egg which provides the highest standard of living in the world.

You scare me because you have begun to use ‘extortion’ tactics against certain banks and corporations.

You scare me because your own political party shrinks from challenging you on your wild and irresponsible spending proposals.

You scare me because you will not openly listen to or even consider opposing points of view from intelligent people.

You scare me because you falsely believe that you are both omnipotent and omniscient.

You scare me because the media gives you a free pass on everything you do.

You scare me because you demonize and want to silence the Limbaughs, Hannitys, O’Relllys and Becks who offer opposing, conservative points of view.

You scare me because you prefer controlling over governing.

Finally, you scare me because if you serve a second term I will probably not feel safe in writing a similar letter in 8 years.

Lou Pritchett

Note: Lou Pritchett is a former vice president of Procter & Gamble whose career at that company spanned 36 years before his retirement in 1989, and he is the author of the 1995 business book, Stop Paddling & Start Rocking the Boat.

Responses

  1. Here is another stakeholder’s response to Lou Pritchett. Again I ask that people listen to understand in order to facilitate communication and dialog. It is not my intention to have a big debate about the specific points. It is easy to attack statements back and forth. It is much harder to set our own agendas aside and listen for the parts of what others are saying that has some merit. Thanks for reading and for thinking. –
    *********************************************************************************************************************************

    Mr Lou Pritchett says that our President scares him… I’ll answer by writing after each paragraph.

    LP: Dear President Obama:

    You are the thirteenth President under whom I have lived and unlike any of the others, you truly scare me.
    You scare me because after months of exposure, I know nothing about you.
    ME: My suggestion: “Google it”, it is amazing! Just in case, here is a link:
    http://www.biography.com/articles/Barack-Obama-12782369

    LP: You scare me because I do not know how you paid for your expensive Ivy League education and your upscale lifestyle and housing with no visible signs of support.
    ME: Occidental College L.A – Columbia University – Harvard. PROBABLY, if this was the education path of another person, Mr. Pritchett would define him as “a remarkable young man making his way through education to achieve the American dream.”

    LP: You scare me because you did not spend the formative years of youth growing up in America and culturally you are not an American.
    ME: He was ten years old when he came back to America, after four years in Indonesia. Now Mr Pritchett scares me. Is he deciding who is and who is not “culturally” American? Is he proposing that those who are not “culturally Americans” do not have the same rights that those who, according to him, are “culturally Americans”?

    LP: You scare me because you have never run a company or met a payroll.
    ME: These are two different issues. One: Where in the Constitution says that you must run a company to be eligible for office? The required skills are not the same, and objectives are different.
    Two: Just a plain lie. Everybody knows where and when our President worked.

    LP: You scare me because you have never had military experience, thus don’t understand it at its core.
    ME: That is why the president has advisors. We have numerous examples of people with great military experience ruling Latin American countries… Do I need to say more?

    LP: You scare me because you lack humility and ‘class’, always blaming others.
    ME: Well, Mr. Pritchett is entitled to his opinion, but opinions do not count if we want to make a point.
    About blaming others; if we are talking about who got us into this mess, certainly was not our President.

    LP: You scare me because for over half your life you have aligned yourself with radical extremists who hate America and you refuse to publicly denounce these radicals who wish to see America fail.
    ME: Wait a minute… Mr Pritchett said that he did not know anything about the President…

    LP: You scare me because you are a cheerleader for the ‘blame America’ crowd and deliver this message abroad.
    ME: Trying to achieve peace mean making concessions and be the first in recognizing past errors. It is a risky thing to do; because you hope that your counterpart will do the same, but there is no other way to reach peace based on mutual commitment.

    LP: You scare me because you want to change America to a European style country where the government sector dominates instead of the private sector.
    ME: That is called democracy in action; the majority voted for this model at this time. The old discussion of private vs. state has been going forever. The history shows that both extremes have failed.

    LP: You scare me because you want to replace our health care system with a government controlled one.
    ME: Not true. The plan is to add an option to extend health care to those who can’t have any.

    LP: You scare me because you prefer ‘wind mills’ to responsibly capitalizing on our own vast oil, coal and shale reserves.
    ME: Leaving the non-renewable resources as a true reserve and last resource sounds more responsible to me.

    LP: You scare me because you want to kill the American capitalist goose that lays the golden egg which provides the highest standard of living in the world.
    ME: This is just a vague statement based on buzz words (not to mention that the goose has stopped laying eggs for a long while). Everything must evolve and change. Capitalism has changed, other systems have changed. The world moves and evolves. Maintaining the status quo of the present condition will kill America, not the will to move forward and grow, along with a strong determination to regain true leadership in the continent and the world.

    LP: You scare me because you have begun to use ‘extortion’ tactics against certain banks and corporations.
    ME: This is another of those statements based on partial interpretation. I will like Mr Pritchett to be more specific and provide information of supported facts instead of throwing statements as gossip.

    LP: You scare me because your own political party shrinks from challenging you on your wild and irresponsible spending proposals.
    ME: Again, this is based on what? Is Mr Pritchett a recognized analyst of the Democratic Party?

    LP: You scare me because you will not openly listen to or even consider opposing points of view from intelligent people.
    ME: Not true. It is well known that many projects have come from bi-partisan committees and there are several members in government positions that are not democrats.

    LP: You scare me because you falsely believe that you are both omnipotent and omniscient.
    ME: Another one… This one is borderline name calling.

    LP: You scare me because the media gives you a free pass on everything you do.
    ME: The media has been historically moderate with the President. That is not a free ride. In the next paragraph Mr Pritchett does mention very influential people from the media.

    LP: You scare me because you demonize and want to silence the Limbaughs, Hannitys, O’Relllys and Becks who offer opposing, conservative points of view.
    ME: “Demonize and silence”? Mr Pritchett should produce a document where our President, at least since he is in the Office, has referred to the named people “demonizing” them. “Silence” is a word too strong to say without proof. It is almost slandering unless it can be proven 100% true.

    LP: You scare me because you prefer controlling over governing.
    ME: I would like to understand Mr. Pritchett’s definition of governing and controlling. Again, opinions and throwing buzz words just like campaigning.

    LP: Finally, you scare me because if you serve a second term I will probably not feel safe in writing a similar letter in 8 years.
    Lou Pritchett

    ME: This last statement is definitely ill intentioned. I should remind Mr Pritchett that it was during the previous administration that at least three people were arrested for wearing a shirt with an inscription against the war in Iraq. However, for as long as we keep our Constitution alive, we will be able to say what we want to say. No president will ever be able to mess with this, we all know that. The advances in loosing many of our liberties and rights came after several laws which were ruled in the previous administration, for better or worse. That is another topic for discussion.
    My conclusion, after reading Mr Pritchett’s letter: I see partial truth mixed with a couple of lies and many opinions. One of the possible interpretations is that he is not really scared, what he really wants to do is to scare others.

    FERNANDO A. CORNEJO
    fernanditoslc@yahoo.com

  2. Thank You Fernando Cornejo for your clear comments. I too feel that this LETTER is filled with mostly personal comments and opinions by Mr. Pritchett and not facts. Saddens me that as Christians we try to find the negative instead of lifting up the positive and PRAYING for our President no matter who he may be. I will keep our President and our Country in my prayers and believe that nothing moves in our existence if not by the GRACE of God. Thus there is a reason why he chose to give President Obama the position. I trust with my entire being on GOD’S will… no matter where it takes us, there is a reason for this. God Bless America and ALL of his Children throughout the world.


Leave a Reply

Categories

